Adoptable Cookbooks List

Looking for a cookbook to adopt? You can now see a list of cookbooks available for adoption!
List of Adoptable Cookbooks

Supermarket Belongs to the Community

Supermarket belongs to the community. While Chef has the responsibility to keep it running and be stewards of its functionality, what it does and how it works is driven by the community. The chef/supermarket repository will continue to be where development of the Supermarket application takes place. Come be part of shaping the direction of Supermarket by opening issues and pull requests or by joining us on the Chef Mailing List.

Select Badges

Select Supported Platforms

RSS

openstack-image (1) Versions 15.0.0

Installs and configures the Glance Image Registry and Delivery Service

Berkshelf/Librarian
Policyfile
Knife
cookbook 'openstack-image', '~> 15.0.0'
cookbook 'openstack-image', '~> 15.0.0', :supermarket
knife cookbook site install openstack-image
knife cookbook site download openstack-image
README
Dependencies
Quality 67%

Team and repository tags

Team and repository tags

<!-- Change things from this point on -->

Chef OpenStack Logo

Description

This cookbook installs the OpenStack Image service Glance as part of an OpenStack reference deployment Chef for OpenStack. The https://github.com/openstack/openstack-chef-repo contains documentation for using this cookbook in the context of a full OpenStack deployment. Glance is installed from packages, optionally populating the repository with default images.

http://docs.openstack.org/mitaka/config-reference/image-service.html

Requirements

  • Chef 12 or higher
  • chefdk 0.9.0 or later for testing (also includes berkshelf for cookbook dependency resolution)

Platform

  • ubuntu
  • redhat
  • centos

Cookbooks

The following cookbooks are dependencies:

  • 'openstack-common', '>= 14.0.0'
  • 'openstack-identity', '>= 14.0.0'
  • 'openstackclient', '>= 0.1.0'

Attributes

Please see the extensive inline documentation in attributes/*.rb for descriptions of all the settable attributes for this cookbook.

Note that all attributes are in the default['openstack'] "namespace"

The usage of attributes to generate the glance-api.conf glance-registry.conf is decribed in the openstack-common cookbook.

Recipes

openstack-image::api

  • Installs the glance-api server

openstack-image::client

  • Install the glance client packages

openstack-image::identityr_registration

  • Registers the API endpoint and glance service Keystone user

openstack-image::registry

  • Installs the glance-registry server

openstack-image::image-upload

  • Upload image to glance. If you want to upload image during openstack installation, you need to add this recipe or the os-image role to the run list in a certain role and ensure before this recipe or the os-image role glance api and glance registry recipes have been executed.

Glance Backend

The Glance cookbook currently supports file, swift, and Rackspace Cloud Files (swift API compliant) backing stores. NOTE: changing the storage location from cloudfiles to swift (and vice versa) requires that you manually export and import your stored images.

To enable these features set the following in the default attributes section in your environment:

Files

"openstack": {
    "image": {
        "api": {
            "default_store": "file"
        },
        "upload_images": [
            "cirros"
        ]
    }
}

Swift

"openstack": {
    "image": {
        "api": {
            "default_store": "swift"
        },
        "upload_images": [
            "cirros"
        ]
    }
}

Providers

image

Action: :upload

  • :image_url: Location of the image to be loaded into Glance.
  • :image_name: A name for the image.
  • :image_type: unknown, qcow, ami, vhd, vmdk, vdi, iso, raw. Defaults of unknown will use file extension '.gz', '.tgz' = ami, '.qcow2', '.img' = qcow.
  • :identity_user: Username of the Keystone admin user.
  • :identity_pass: Password for the Keystone admin user.
  • :identity_tenant: Name of the Keystone admin user's tenant.
  • :identity_uri: URI of the Identity API endpoint.

For testing this provider with ChefSpec, a custom matcher was added to libraries/matchers.rb.

License and Author

Author Justin Shepherd (justin.shepherd@rackspace.com)
Author Jason Cannavale (jason.cannavale@rackspace.com)
Author Ron Pedde (ron.pedde@rackspace.com)
Author Joseph Breu (joseph.breu@rackspace.com)
Author William Kelly (william.kelly@rackspace.com)
Author Darren Birkett (darren.birkett@rackspace.co.uk)
Author Evan Callicoat (evan.callicoat@rackspace.com)
Author Matt Ray (matt@opscode.com)
Author Jay Pipes (jaypipes@att.com)
Author John Dewey (jdewey@att.com)
Author Craig Tracey (craigtracey@gmail.com)
Author Sean Gallagher (sean.gallagher@att.com)
Author Mark Vanderwiel (vanderwl@us.ibm.com)
Author Salman Baset (sabaset@us.ibm.com)
Author Chen Zhiwei (zhiwchen@cn.ibm.com)
Author Eric Zhou (zyouzhou@cn.ibm.com)
Author Jian Hua Geng (gengjh@cn.ibm.com)
Author Ionut Artarisi (iartarisi@suse.cz)
Author Imtiaz Chowdhury (imtiaz.chowdhury@workday.com)
Author Jan Klare (j.klare@cloudbau.de)
Author Christoph Albers (c.albers@x-ion.de)
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012, Rackspace US, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, Opscode, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, AT&T Services, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013, Craig Tracey craigtracey@gmail.com
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013-2014, IBM Corp.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2014, SUSE Linux, GmbH.

Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at

http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0

Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.

Collaborator Number Metric
            

15.0.0 failed this metric

Failure: Cookbook has 0 collaborators. A cookbook must have at least 2 collaborators to pass this metric.

Contributing File Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Foodcritic Metric
            

15.0.0 failed this metric

FC074: LWRP should use DSL to define resource's default action: openstack-image/resources/image.rb:1
Run with Foodcritic Version 12.0.1 with tags metadata,correctness ~FC031 ~FC045 and failure tags any

License Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

No Binaries Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Publish Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Supported Platforms Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Testing File Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Version Tag Metric
            

15.0.0 failed this metric

Failure: To pass this metric, your cookbook metadata must include a source url, the source url must be in the form of https://github.com/user/repo, and your repo must include a tag that matches this cookbook version number