Adoptable Cookbooks List

Looking for a cookbook to adopt? You can now see a list of cookbooks available for adoption!
List of Adoptable Cookbooks

Supermarket Belongs to the Community

Supermarket belongs to the community. While Chef has the responsibility to keep it running and be stewards of its functionality, what it does and how it works is driven by the community. The chef/supermarket repository will continue to be where development of the Supermarket application takes place. Come be part of shaping the direction of Supermarket by opening issues and pull requests or by joining us on the Chef Mailing List.

Select Badges

Select Supported Platforms

RSS

openstack-compute (1) Versions 15.0.0

The OpenStack Compute service Nova.

Berkshelf/Librarian
Policyfile
Knife
cookbook 'openstack-compute', '~> 15.0.0'
cookbook 'openstack-compute', '~> 15.0.0', :supermarket
knife cookbook site install openstack-compute
knife cookbook site download openstack-compute
README
Dependencies
Quality

Team and repository tags

Team and repository tags

<!-- Change things from this point on -->

Chef OpenStack Logo

Description

This cookbook installs the OpenStack Compute service Nova as part of the OpenStack reference deployment Chef for OpenStack. The https://github.com/openstack/openstack-chef-repo contains documentation for using this cookbook in the context of a full OpenStack deployment. Nova is currently installed from packages.

http://docs.openstack.org/mitaka/config-reference/compute.html

Requirements

  • Chef 12 or higher
  • chefdk 0.9.0 or higher for testing (also includes berkshelf for cookbook dependency resolution)

Platform

  • ubuntu
  • redhat
  • centos

Cookbooks

The following cookbooks are dependencies:

  • 'ceph', '>= 0.8.1'
  • 'openstack-common', '>= 14.0.0'
  • 'openstack-identity', '>= 14.0.0'
  • 'openstack-image', '>= 14.0.0'
  • 'openstack-network', '>= 14.0.0'
  • 'openstackclient', '>= 0.1.0'

Attributes

Please see the extensive inline documentation in attributes/*.rb for descriptions of all the settable attributes for this cookbook.

Note that all attributes are in the default['openstack'] "namespace"

The usage of attributes to generate the node.conf is decribed in the openstack-common cookbook.

Recipes

openstack-compute::api-metadata

  • Installs the nova metadata package

openstack-compute::api-os-compute

  • Installs OS API and configures the service and endpoints in keystone

openstack-compute::client

  • Install the nova client packages

openstack-compute::compute

  • Installs nova-compute service

openstack-compute::compute

  • Installs nova-conductor service

openstack-compute::identity_registration

  • Registers the nova endpoints with keystone

openstack-compute::libvirt

  • Installs libvirt, used by nova compute for management of the virtual machine environment

openstack-compute::libvirt_rbd

  • Prepares the compute node for interaction with a Ceph cluster for block storage (RBD)
  • Depends on ceph::_common, ceph::install, and ceph::conf for packages and cluster connectivity (i.e. a proper /etc/ceph/ceph.conf)

openstack-compute::nova-cert

  • Installs nova-cert service

openstack-compute::nova-common

  • Builds the basic nova.conf config file with details of the rabbitmq, mysql, glance and keystone servers

openstack-compute::nova-setup

  • Sets up the nova networks with nova-manage

openstack-compute::scheduler

  • Installs nova scheduler service

openstack-compute::vncproxy

  • Installs and configures the vncproxy service for console access to VMs

openstack-compute::serialproxy

  • Installs and configures the serialproxy service for serial console access to VMs

License and Author

Author Justin Shepherd (justin.shepherd@rackspace.com)
Author Jason Cannavale (jason.cannavale@rackspace.com)
Author Ron Pedde (ron.pedde@rackspace.com)
Author Joseph Breu (joseph.breu@rackspace.com)
Author William Kelly (william.kelly@rackspace.com)
Author Darren Birkett (darren.birkett@rackspace.co.uk)
Author Evan Callicoat (evan.callicoat@rackspace.com)
Author Matt Ray (matt@opscode.com)
Author Jay Pipes (jaypipes@att.com)
Author John Dewey (jdewey@att.com)
Author Kevin Bringard (kbringard@att.com)
Author Craig Tracey (craigtracey@gmail.com)
Author Sean Gallagher (sean.gallagher@att.com)
Author Ionut Artarisi (iartarisi@suse.cz)
Author JieHua Jin (jinjhua@cn.ibm.com)
Author David Geng (gengjh@cn.ibm.com)
Author Salman Baset (sabaset@us.ibm.com)
Author Chen Zhiwei (zhiwchen@cn.ibm.com)
Author Mark Vanderwiel (vanderwl@us.ibm.com)
Author Eric Zhou (zyouzhou@cn.ibm.com)
Author Mathew Odden (mrodden@us.ibm.com)
Author Jan Klare (j.klare@cloudbau.de)
Author Christoph Albers (c.albers@x-ion.de)
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, Rackspace US, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, Opscode, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, AT&T Services, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013, Craig Tracey
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013-2014, SUSE Linux GmbH
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013-2014, IBM, Corp.

Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at

http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0

Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.

Dependent cookbooks

openstackclient >= 0.0.0
openstack-network >= 15.0.0
openstack-image >= 15.0.0
openstack-identity >= 15.0.0
openstack-common >= 15.0.0
ceph >= 0.9.2

Contingent cookbooks

openstack-integration-test Applicable Versions

Collaborator Number Metric
            

15.0.0 failed this metric

Failure: Cookbook has 0 collaborators. A cookbook must have at least 2 collaborators to pass this metric.

Contributing File Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Foodcritic Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

License Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

No Binaries Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Publish Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Supported Platforms Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Testing File Metric
            

15.0.0 passed this metric

Version Tag Metric
            

15.0.0 failed this metric

Failure: To pass this metric, your cookbook metadata must include a source url, the source url must be in the form of https://github.com/user/repo, and your repo must include a tag that matches this cookbook version number